25 July 2001 // Truth is stranger than fanfic...

music //
wp //
link //

Truth is stranger than fanfic. Sometimes, real life comes up with stories that beat scripted fiction hands down. I spent most of yesterday evening and last night reading about one man's legal battle over intellectual property and copyright with the world's most powerful brand name, Coca-Cola. A news article on devart caught my eye, and I followed the link to the full story at Guerrilla News. Wow. Take some time to read through this - it's well-written, and does a good job of describing the very complex legal issues involved. It'll blow your mind. The implications are stunning. The story is almost unbelieveable on one level - how could our "justice" system fail this man, Bob Kolody, so utterly? On another, more cynical level, it makes excruciatingly clear how deep the corruption in the system can be, how intricately it is intertwined with corporate control and political machinations... how helpless the average "nobody" seems against such obstacles. No major media news network has picked up this story, which is surprising considering how "big" it could be... but not so surprising when you consider how big Coke's advertising budget is. Not to mention CIA and Mafia ties... geh.

Hmm... maybe I'll read the "Boycott Adobe" story next. ^_^

(complete subject change)

Watched much bishounen-anime over the weekend... Angel Sanctuary is absolutely stunning - is there more anime than the 3 OVA episodes? (need to get DVD... nead to learn to read Japanese and get manga...) I have another silver-haired psycho bishounen baddie to obsess over: Inorganic Angel Rosiel. Yes, that's a male character. Rosiel takes the bishounen ambiguity to an extreme - he's practically a bishoujo. Slightly more obsessive than Dilandau-sama. --;; I really need to start a web-shrine to all these silver-haired bishounen baddies. They're everywhere, and they're so cool! ^___^ Sokar, if you're reading this, next time you're buying anime, GET ANGEL SANCTUARY! ^_^ You won't be disappointed!

While searching for Angel Sanctuary pics last night, I ran across Aestheticism's fanfic archive - a great place to find some really good yaoi fanfic. A Rurouni Kenshin/Highlander crossover caught my eye, and I needed some light reading after the aforementioned mind-blowing Coca-Cola article. Besides, of course Kenshin's an immie! My only difference of opinion with the author is that I think he was Awakened before the start of the TV series, sometime during the revolution, instead of when she has it happen. Good story, can't wait to read more. :) Kenshin and Sano make such a good couple, even as immies. Ph33r when they get mad at each other, though. ^_^;;

My cousins have been watching Rurouni Kenshin, too. I think I need to find a Sanosuke wallscroll for Andrew - that seems to be his favorite character - and give Laura one of my Escaflowne ones. *lol* I could just see Andrew cosplaying as Sano. ^_^ I don't think I'll tell them about yaoi fanfic, though... from either series. ��

On the recommendation of Robert, whom I met at A-kon, I rented Fake from Netflix... fun shounen-ai romp about two cops who are on vacation and end up involved in a murder mystery. One of the main characters, Dee, is rather obnoxious and hightly amusing in his attempts to seduce his partner, Ryo. (They're partners as cops, not the other way... yet.) There's a grey-haired bishie in this one too, but J.J.'s just annoying. How dare he have a haircut like Dilandau-sama and be that annoying? *lol* Dee is voiced by Tomokazu Seki - also the voice of Van Fanel (Esca) and Ken Hidaka (Wei�) - and with certain comments made in the "Club Escaflowne" cast interviews (he says his first kiss was with a boy when he was in like 2nd grade), i'm starting to wonder about him... *grin*

We finally got our BESM game really rolling over the past two weeks - got the characters to Chantrie Keep, where they learned about the 7 gems they have to collect to repair the world's magic and allow them to go home, and then set them on the trail of the first one. Yeah, fairly standard Final Fantasy-type plot. ^_^;; And yes, there's a silver-haired bishounen baddie in my game, too. He just hasn't told me his name yet. :P

Oh, finally got the map done for my parents' website. Check it out. :)

prev // next

recent alterations //
21 November 2002 // I'm not dead yet!
03 October 2002 // Snarling bitch to genki fangirl in 0.8 seconds flat! [i]
27 September 2002 // He's got butterfly wings, not feathery angel wings. Geez, people!
25 September 2002 // The Great Oekaki Contest Begins! [ai]
14 September 2002 // The obsessiveness continues...

elya-chan's current mood

fate alteration 5.0
ILLUMI-naughty

latest // older // guestbook // cast // design // links // rings // profile // email
oekaki // elfwood gallery // plushiedoken // random surrealism // diaryland

Want to be notified when I update?
Enter your email:

fate alteration original design and content �2000-2002 elya-chan.
Layout optimized for Internet Explorer 5.5 or higher, resolution 800x600 or greater.
All characters mentioned are � their respective creators.

The Kami/Gackt picture above was lovingly scanned by me and carefully edited for this layout. Please don't swipe it. Take the unadulterated version here, and if you use it somewhere else (like a wp or a skin), please link me and let me know - I'd love to see the results!

Serena Karaoke Dilandau-sama! Dragonslayer Viole

I support J-rock! mizer-licious! Dir-esque
gackt and kami make me think yaoi thoughts
FucKeD uP fAngIrL
put on your makeup, boy
Sockful of Quarters kanji