28 April 2002 // Red Destiny: Aishiteru

music //
wp //
link //

(This has been sitting in a text file on my desktop for a few months now... a vignette, the start of a story about my fictional j-rock band, Red Destiny. You know some of these characters already, they've been making appearances and snide comments in my entries for some time now, and there are pictures on the oekaki board. This is what comes of watching too much Kaikan Phrase and Yami no Matsuei... at the same time. ^_^;; There's definitely shounen-ai/yaoi here. I'm not sure what the final "rating" will be, but at least two of the characters are lobbying for at least R, if not NC-17. *sweatdrop* Nothing graphic in this first part, though. Just getting the story going... theoretically. *lol* Oh, and if you didn't know, Aishiteru means "I love you." ^_^)

* * *

~ Red Destiny ~
vocals: Cadence (Kinomoto Shin)
guitar: Toya (Touma Takuya)
guitar+synth: Hikaru (Hoshino Hikaru)
bass: Katsu (Ogura Katsuhiko)
drums: Anji (Asakawa Manjirou)

* * *

And now here we are, standing face to face
I've waited so long to touch you, but I wouldn't dare
Try to kiss you... try to caress you...
With these lips, these hands, so clumsy, so shy
I turn away, afraid to tell the truth:
Aishiteru...

Cadence sighed the last word of the chorus into the microphone, pitching it to meld with the sustained notes of Toya's guitar, as Katsu and Hikaru began a subtle interweaving canon of bass and guitar. The steady pulse of Anji's bass drum became the heartbeat of the song itself, bringing it to life. Sound layered over sound as the instruments shifted into their solo verse. Cadence smiled as he listened. The arrangement was turning out even better than he'd expected, capturing the emotion behind his lyrics perfectly - almost too perfectly. He just hoped the lyrics' target wasn't as blindingly obvious as their message. As he launched into the bridge to the final chorus, he hoped the other band members believed he was simply getting better at acting, conveying feelings he'd never admit to.

If I told you right now that I love you,
If I suddenly pressed my lips against yours,
Would I lose any chance of ever holding you again?
Could I take that risk?

Now it's down to this, standing face to face
I've waited so long to touch you, but I'll never dare
Try to kiss you... try to caress you...
With these lips, these hands, so clumsy, so shy
I turn away, afraid to tell the truth:
Aishiteru... aishiteru...

He repeated the word over and over, changing it to a moan, a sigh, a whisper as the instruments softened to an ethereal echo of the main melody and slowed like a music box to the end. He breathed it once more, ever so softly, as the final echo of the guitars died away.

The rehearsal room was silent for several seconds, amazement plain on everyone's faces.

Toya was the first to break the silence with a whispered "Wow..."

Katsu chimed in next, a huge grin spreading across his animated face. "Man... I got cold chills down my spine! Damn, that was awesome!"

Cadence smiled wryly and turned to their manager, seated near the door. "Yes, but does Tataki-san think it'll sell?" he asked, with more than a hint of sarcasm.

"It stands a good chance of being a successful single," Tataki answered in perfect seriousness. "Good practice, everyone. I'll see you tomorrow morning at the recording studio." The only man in the room wearing a suit turned on his heel and left.

"Heh. Never changes, does he?" Anji quipped as the door closed behind Tataki. "Guess it means that one of us doesn't have to be the group bastard."

"At least he liked this one, which is more than we can say for the last two new songs we tried." Hikaru chuckled. "What happened, Cadence? You get a new crush or something?"

Cadence bent to pick up a lyric sheet, letting his long hair fall forward to hide his blush. "No..." Not a new crush, anyway, he thought. "Just inspired by something I read, actually."

"Must have been some read." Hikaru shook his head as he put his guitar in its case. "You were really into those lyrics. Like Katsu said, enough to give us chills..." He leaned in close, bringing his perfectly painted lips to whisper in Cadence's ear, "or warm someone on a cold night..."

* * *

(Comments? Please sign the guestbook! ^_^)

prev // next

recent alterations //
21 November 2002 // I'm not dead yet!
03 October 2002 // Snarling bitch to genki fangirl in 0.8 seconds flat! [i]
27 September 2002 // He's got butterfly wings, not feathery angel wings. Geez, people!
25 September 2002 // The Great Oekaki Contest Begins! [ai]
14 September 2002 // The obsessiveness continues...

elya-chan's current mood

fate alteration 5.0
ILLUMI-naughty

latest // older // guestbook // cast // design // links // rings // profile // email
oekaki // elfwood gallery // plushiedoken // random surrealism // diaryland

Want to be notified when I update?
Enter your email:

fate alteration original design and content �2000-2002 elya-chan.
Layout optimized for Internet Explorer 5.5 or higher, resolution 800x600 or greater.
All characters mentioned are � their respective creators.

The Kami/Gackt picture above was lovingly scanned by me and carefully edited for this layout. Please don't swipe it. Take the unadulterated version here, and if you use it somewhere else (like a wp or a skin), please link me and let me know - I'd love to see the results!

Serena Karaoke Dilandau-sama! Dragonslayer Viole

I support J-rock! mizer-licious! Dir-esque
gackt and kami make me think yaoi thoughts
FucKeD uP fAngIrL
put on your makeup, boy
Sockful of Quarters kanji