06 May 2002 // My List of Five... top 5 jrock songs, that is. [i]

music // malice mizer - syunikiss ~nido me no aitou~ (stuck in my head, despite what's actually playing)
wp // malice mizer in their 'merveilles' outfits, from missing piece
link //

Yee! My Malice Mizer obsession is now official - I now have a photobook! *sparkle sparkle, magical merriment* And a doujinshi on the way... which I won on eBay 2 weeks ago and still hasn't arrived... if it doesn't come in the mail today, gonna have to email the seller and give 'em what fo'. *lol*

I'd been meaning to do this for a while - Shiroi Heya has had a "Top 100 Jrock Songs" poll up for some time now, asking readers to list their top 5 songs. They're closing the poll at the end of this week, so I finally got off my duff and submitted my favorites (and my reasons). Here they are, in no particular order:

Gackt - Vanilla
Malice Mizer - Gekka no Yasoukyoku
X Japan - Art of Life
Dir en grey - Ain't Afraid to Die
Malice Mizer - Gackt & Kami duet from merveilles l'espace

All of these songs astound me, in many different ways.

"Vanilla" and "Gekka no Yasoukyoku" are just fun, and either is pretty much guaranteed to put a smile on my face (or, well, an ecchi grin in the case of "Vanilla").

"Art of Life" floored me the first time I heard it, the music and lyrics resonating with me in a way very few songs really can. The last time I had been affected that deeply by a song was the first time I heard "Someone Else?" by Queensr�che, which became my anthem my senior year of high school. I know now that those two songs came out about the same time. I wonder what that year would have been like if I had known X Japan then?

"Ain't Afraid to Die" is beautiful - laden with emotion conveyed by Kyo's unique voice, alternately comforting, heartbreaking, disquieting... and always riveting.

And oh, that 9 1/2 minute long instrumental duet... the music itself is wonderful, but what puts it in my top 5 is seeing the video of the live performance, and the incredible energy between Gackt on piano and Kami on drums. Yes, my favorite j-rock "pairing" is Kami x Gackt, and this duet is one of the main reasons why. *fangirl grin*

In other happy-fangirl news, there's going to be a J-rock con in LA in August 2003... and yes, I'm going to do my damnedest to be there. ^___^ I've applied to be on the cosplay panel, and volunteered to help out with other stuff. So heh, among everything else I have to do this month before A-kon, I may be doing flyers for that. *lol*

I've been collecting random quiz results, and now I shall share them all! Muahaha!

Bright eyed, bushy tailed & something to say is how people would describe you - and haven't you got alot to say!!! All the years of oppression, inequality and sexual liberation - mentally and physically - inside of you are bursting at the seams! You're fearless and not afraid to express how you feel - and theres plenty more where that came from!

Which Era of Tori Amos are you?

I'm Gwynn!
Which Sluggy Freelance Character Are You?

I took it again later - the questions had changed slightly, and I got Torg. *shrug*

I had no particular stake in the outcome of this next one (and didn't know who the character was that I did get), so I made Cadence take it instead.
Cadence: *smirk*


Which Street Fighter are you?
Test by Nathan

Muaha. ph34r m3:


What FFVII character are you?? Find out here!!! by !!

The next one, by itself, is pretty spiffy. In combination with the one following it, however... *shudder*


Take the Which Star Wars Character are you mostly likely to get it on with? quiz, by ProtocolDroid.


Take the Which Star Wars Hero are You? Quiz!
...created by Kenzie.

Ewwwwwwwww.

Eh-heh. On to much happier things...


Which HP Kid Are You?

Heehee. I knew that. I knew that from the first time I read the books. ^__^


Which Kozi are you?
quiz by sinergi

Yay! Gekka no Yasoukyoku K�zi! Kefka-ish K�zi! Mweheheheee!

And finally...

Congratulations! Your ideal Alpha Male is...
oh yeah~
Two words normally come to mind when dealing with the Wild Card Alpha Male--good luck. Generally seen as the 'self absorbed', 'eccentric', and 'highly sexual', this Alpha Male usually isn't associated with monogamy. However, once he does settle on someone they should consider themselves either blessed or cursed. His behavior can often be unpredictable, irrational, and quite bizarre in nature, and as the object of his affection, you will soon find it impossible to escape. And yet, underneath the egoism and the absentmindedness, it is very apparent that it won't do to have you taken away from him, or leave for that matter. Provided you have the patience and endurance to put up with his attitude and appetite, you'll eventually come to find you wouldn't want to anyways.
Which Alpha Male is right for you?
Brought to you by Alexandra and Matrim

Muaha. Not that I'm looking for an Alpha Male, but... Muaha. XD~~~

prev // next

recent alterations //
21 November 2002 // I'm not dead yet!
03 October 2002 // Snarling bitch to genki fangirl in 0.8 seconds flat! [i]
27 September 2002 // He's got butterfly wings, not feathery angel wings. Geez, people!
25 September 2002 // The Great Oekaki Contest Begins! [ai]
14 September 2002 // The obsessiveness continues...

elya-chan's current mood

fate alteration 5.0
ILLUMI-naughty

latest // older // guestbook // cast // design // links // rings // profile // email
oekaki // elfwood gallery // plushiedoken // random surrealism // diaryland

Want to be notified when I update?
Enter your email:

fate alteration original design and content �2000-2002 elya-chan.
Layout optimized for Internet Explorer 5.5 or higher, resolution 800x600 or greater.
All characters mentioned are � their respective creators.

The Kami/Gackt picture above was lovingly scanned by me and carefully edited for this layout. Please don't swipe it. Take the unadulterated version here, and if you use it somewhere else (like a wp or a skin), please link me and let me know - I'd love to see the results!

Serena Karaoke Dilandau-sama! Dragonslayer Viole

I support J-rock! mizer-licious! Dir-esque
gackt and kami make me think yaoi thoughts
FucKeD uP fAngIrL
put on your makeup, boy
Sockful of Quarters kanji