11 August 2001 // Moving in... in the middle of Hell Week

music //
wp //
link //

Hmm... what to do tonight... unpack, add a diaryland entry, work on my website, play FFIX, work on my parents' website, go grocery shopping, find random fanfic to read, or attempt to clean the water on the floor in the utility closet. Hmm... I think I'll add a diaryland entry, for starters. ^_^

I moved in to my new apartment last Friday - big, big thanks to my parents, the gaming group, and Joe Dan from the Turquoise Museum for all their help in hauling my stuff over here from my parents' house. :) Now I just need to figure out where it all goes. -_-;; It's a very nice one-bedroom, with a small fenced-in private yard (I'll eventually get a bbq grill for out there). There's plenty of room for the furniture I have, just not when all the other stuff's still in boxes. ^_^;; I'm making progress, though - most of the books that go on the big bookshelf are out, most of the clothes are in the closet or drawers where they'll go, the kitchen and bathroom are all set up except for decoration, the tv and the computer are up, and I found all my videos, dvds, and cds. Most of the furniture is where I want it, but there are a few things I have to move around once I get all the boxes out of the way. ^_^

mmm, pizza just arrived... yay, food other than ramen and quesadillas!

On wednesday, the guy from Comcast came to install cable for the tv and internet. It took us most of the afternoon to get the computers set up - my desktop box was not agreeing with the new hardware whatsoever, neither the usb connection to the modem nor the ethernet card we installed - we finally just set it up with the laptop, which had no problem cooperating. :P After much playing around with settings and drivers and so on wed. night, I figured the problem probably was that this old thing was still running Win98 first edition. Brought home the 2nd edition upgrade disk, installed it this morning, and now it works no problem. No problem, that is, except for its still-tiny hard drive. :P I need a more 1337 box. *sigh* Not having to deal with Prodigy's crappy dialup connection is nice, though. Broadband is a happy thing. ^_^

On top of this major change in my personal life, this has been "Hell Week" at the gallery. The Zuni show opened on Friday in Santa Fe, so I was getting lots of display stuff ready for that. Then Ken no baka decided he wanted to do a Navajo textile show at the same time in Abq. Poor Joshua just got dumped on, having to do writeups for most of the pieces in both shows. Amidst the chaos, there was no chance of me getting the web site for the Zuni show put together at the gallery, so again I ended up bringing it home and staying up really late designing and assembling it. I worked on it from 8:30 p.m. (after having a minor nervous breakdown and needing to decompress after work) until about 3:15 a.m., with minor breaks to play a round of DDR to stay awake. ^_^;; Fortunately, that counts as comp time, and makes up for the time I took off on Wednesday to meet the cable guy (and then some - I can take an early afternoon sometime next week). I enjoy doing the "special exhibit" sites for the gallery - it gives me a chance to play around with design and do something different from the usual black-on-black motif. I really like the way this one turned out - check it out - the background is a bird motif from a photo of one of the jars in the show (points if you figure out which one!), and is the same thing we used in the print invitation. The tables with the torn-paper edges were fun to put together (though it took some kludging to get the title table to work correctly in Netscape, darn them and the way they display tables), and I can easily use them again elsewhere. The Nampeyo show site actually took a bit more work - the "migration pattern" at the sides of the table had to be created in Freehand. I love the way it looks, though.

So after staying up ungodly late for what I'd have to do the next morning, I had to go into work on Friday and upload the thing... and troubleshoot it, and link the rest of the site to it, and deal with everyone's last-minute jitters. :P Then Josh and I drove up to Santa Fe to deliver a Mission Oak cabinet he'd sold, and to go to the show - he'd never seen the SF gallery before. Parking on Canyon Road on Friday night is a nightmare, plain and simple. I finally dropped him off at the door to the gallery and parked in a public parking lot a short hike away. When I got to the gallery, they wanted me to troubleshoot email problems on their computer, so I didn't even get to look at the show at all. Pthbt. The glimpse I caught looked nice, though. ^_^;;

*takes a break from typing to arrange random stuff and put some things away* Yay, I have a soothing decorative fountain now. *smile* I need a soothing decorative fountain after this past week.

I like my bathroom at this place. It's simple, yes, but it's damn nice to have a shower that I can actually move around in, and a bathtub that I don't feel squeamish about sitting down in. ^_^;; I took a long, hot bath last night, and it helped immensely. My plan is to decorate the bathroom in Escaflowne stuff and random dragons. :) Now, where did those wallscroll hangers go? The cord for that long one has to be around here somewhere...

List of stuff what oughta get done eventually:
(in no particular order)

  • Have this place ready for the gaming group to come over next Friday night. Hehheh.
  • Go through old textbooks and other books and take a bunch of stuff to the used bookstore to sell/trade.
  • Go through CD's and take a bunch to Hastings or Page One Too to sell.
  • Take parents' random old high school yearbooks that were on the bottom shelf of the bookcase (that mom packed in with everything else) back to parents.
  • Put up all the silly little display shelves so I can unpack all my random figurines and things. I miss my bishie action figures!
  • Put up wallscrolls and other wall art. The pretty one of Kenshin goes in the kitchen, a couple of the Esca ones go in the bathroom, the X one goes in the hallway opposite the front door, the Lain one goes above my bed. Dunno about the rest.
  • Go through all my clothes and figure out what can go to Goodwill. I do have more closet and drawer space than I did before, but I have too many clothes - far too many t-shirts, especially (considering I almost never wear them)!
  • Go grocery shopping and get a better variety of food. You can only get so creative with ramen and frozen veggies and quesadilla fixin's. I was really uninspired last time I went shopping. -_-;;
  • Return boxes home, and to Jim and Kathy.
  • Get the dining room clear so I can set up the big multipurpose folding table...
  • Get the drawing board thing, my keyboard, and my guitar from my parents' house.
  • Sell the guitar, and maybe get a different one that isn't too big for me.
  • Move my fanart at Elfwood to their new "FanQuarter" section.
  • Post some stuff at DeviantArt.
  • Update my own damn website. Next goal: art gallery and sketchbook.
  • Photoshop-color several of the drawings I've done lately.
  • Paint cels of several of my drawings... maybe in time to sell them when I go to UshiCon in Austin in February... ^_^;;
  • Take voice lessons. Joshua's wife apparently is a classically-trained singer and certified instructor, and is looking for students. *grin*
  • Invite Cym over for a night of silliness and taping the rest of Escaflowne. *evil grin*
  • Figure out when the pool's actually open and go swimming.
  • Get my keyboard clean - it still hasn't recovered from the orange juice incident a while back. ^_^;;
  • Play more Dance Dance Revolution.
  • Finish Final Fantasy IX so the other gamers don't have to worry about spoiling it for me.
  • Draw more random fanart.
  • Write fanfic: BGC 2040 yuri lemon, and Esca fate alteration (Dilandau's past) story.
  • Pay off credit cards.
  • Sign up for a class at TV-I for the fall.
  • Get car insurance transferred to my name.
  • Get a new computer. *grin*
  • Figure out what to do to the players next in the BESM game... muahahahaha...

*faint*

Good thing I don't have to do that all at once.

On that note... I'm going to sleep now. *weak laugh*

Oyasumi. *crash*

prev // next

recent alterations //
21 November 2002 // I'm not dead yet!
03 October 2002 // Snarling bitch to genki fangirl in 0.8 seconds flat! [i]
27 September 2002 // He's got butterfly wings, not feathery angel wings. Geez, people!
25 September 2002 // The Great Oekaki Contest Begins! [ai]
14 September 2002 // The obsessiveness continues...

elya-chan's current mood

fate alteration 5.0
ILLUMI-naughty

latest // older // guestbook // cast // design // links // rings // profile // email
oekaki // elfwood gallery // plushiedoken // random surrealism // diaryland

Want to be notified when I update?
Enter your email:

fate alteration original design and content �2000-2002 elya-chan.
Layout optimized for Internet Explorer 5.5 or higher, resolution 800x600 or greater.
All characters mentioned are � their respective creators.

The Kami/Gackt picture above was lovingly scanned by me and carefully edited for this layout. Please don't swipe it. Take the unadulterated version here, and if you use it somewhere else (like a wp or a skin), please link me and let me know - I'd love to see the results!

Serena Karaoke Dilandau-sama! Dragonslayer Viole

I support J-rock! mizer-licious! Dir-esque
gackt and kami make me think yaoi thoughts
FucKeD uP fAngIrL
put on your makeup, boy
Sockful of Quarters kanji