22 April 2002 // Cosplay decision, concert report

music //
wp //
link //

Okay, after discussing the cosplay possibilities with my mom, I'm going to do Kami's Au Revoir outfit... and possibly the Merveilles outfit as well. *grin* We got to looking at them - they're basically the same structure, just with different frufru and tchotchke (gawds, is that how that's spelled? ph33r). However, it'll be easier to find the trim for Au Revoir... in fact, we picked up most of the components today. ^_^ Patterns and fabric and sequins, oh my!

Also, as David pointed out, that outfit is more "me"... it's more cheerful-looking, more apropos to the level of genkiness I exhibit, especially at cons... I can picture Au Revoir Kami bouncing around happily or randomly playing DDR, and that image just doesn't quite work for Merveilles Kami *lol*. I'm also randomly going to be handing out these nifty butterfly fans, so if you're at A-Kon and you see me, tell me you read this thing and I'll be sure to give you one (and maybe a glowy ring, too, if I have any left...)!

I got all dressed up in my elegant gothic lolita-ish outfit and went to Pulse on Thursday - that was great fun. ^_^ I spent 3 times as much as I do on my Tuesday DDR workout (boo for itty bitty $2 bottles of water), but I danced probably 3 times as long, so I suppose that evens out. *lol* They played some very good music, including the Apoptygma Berzerk David's been recommending to me lately and several things from the random "industrial" cd that Sokar made me a copy of last week. Definitely going to do that again... but I think I can show up later next time - i was almost the only person on the dance floor for at least a half an hour before it really got going, and I showed up an hour after the doors opened *lol*. Alas, I had no luck getting them to play "Illuminati"... maybe next time... ^^;;

The NM Women's Chorus' first full concert of the season (with the NM Gay Men's Chorus) was Saturday night in Santa Fe, and it went great! We didn't have a very big crowd, unfortunately - apparently there was no advertising for the thing up there. -_-;; We should have a better crowd for our Albuquerque show on May 4th - I think most of the tickets have sold already, actually. ^_^ If you're here in town, please come see us! The show is a lot of fun! I have tickets to sell - email me! *grin*

Trying to get up to Santa Fe on time was amusing... I realized as I was leaving town that I probably had just enough fuel to make it... and I was fighting both a crosswind and the clock (I needed to be at the place before 6, and I'd left at 5, with a drive that Yahoo maps said should take an hour and 22 minutes). We... won't discuss how fast I went. ^^;; I got to the place in plenty of time, and had enough fuel to get to a gas station afterwards *lol*. We did our last-minute rehearsal for the women at 6, then had half an hour to get ready while the men did their last-minute rehearsal before we did our last-minute joint rehearsal. After that, I did my usual pre-concert ritual of finding a quiet place (in this case, my car) and listening to "Silent Lucidity" by Queensrÿche. Like many theatre-type people, I have my superstitions about things I have to do before a show. I must be wearing a tri-rÿche somewhere on my person, and I must listen to "Silent Lucidity" sometime before I go on stage. The tri-rÿche is permanently taken care of *grin* - it's tattooed on my ankle. But if I don't listen to that song, it just jinxes the whole concert for me. I'm serious. It's happened. And I won't let it happen again. ^^;;

So, as I said, the concert went wonderfully - both choirs sounded beautiful, the solos were great, I even did reasonably well on my drumming. ^_^ Many of us were able to go without our music, too, which was very encouraging. I think we really feel ready for our next concert... well, except for this one song that's just ridiculous (hmm, Drop Out on Maniac?) and whenever we finish it I just think CLEARED! Barely! *gasp*.

Ehh... *looks at the time* must get sleep... must be genki at work inna morning... kyoooo~... g'night!

prev // next

recent alterations //
21 November 2002 // I'm not dead yet!
03 October 2002 // Snarling bitch to genki fangirl in 0.8 seconds flat! [i]
27 September 2002 // He's got butterfly wings, not feathery angel wings. Geez, people!
25 September 2002 // The Great Oekaki Contest Begins! [ai]
14 September 2002 // The obsessiveness continues...

elya-chan's current mood

fate alteration 5.0
ILLUMI-naughty

latest // older // guestbook // cast // design // links // rings // profile // email
oekaki // elfwood gallery // plushiedoken // random surrealism // diaryland

Want to be notified when I update?
Enter your email:

fate alteration original design and content �2000-2002 elya-chan.
Layout optimized for Internet Explorer 5.5 or higher, resolution 800x600 or greater.
All characters mentioned are � their respective creators.

The Kami/Gackt picture above was lovingly scanned by me and carefully edited for this layout. Please don't swipe it. Take the unadulterated version here, and if you use it somewhere else (like a wp or a skin), please link me and let me know - I'd love to see the results!

Serena Karaoke Dilandau-sama! Dragonslayer Viole

I support J-rock! mizer-licious! Dir-esque
gackt and kami make me think yaoi thoughts
FucKeD uP fAngIrL
put on your makeup, boy
Sockful of Quarters kanji