25 April 2002 // Hello, my name is Elya, and I'm a DDR-aholic. [i]

music //
wp //
link //

Oi. I stayed up till 4 a.m. again... nope, not reading another Neal Stephenson novel. I was attempting to get Dance With Intensity, a DDR simulator for the PC, to work on my laptop... with my dance pad via a psx-to-usb adapter that I picked up at Replay Games last night.

You wouldn't think this process would involve reinstalling Windows, ne? Well, explorer had been acting really flaky on that machine for some time now, and last night it finally went kerflooey. I found myself quoting a certain Dir en grey song (Kisou, track 9) quite vehemently. Fortunately, I didn't lose any of my files when I reinstalled 98se, and now the laptop is a much happier camper. Doesn't crash when I try to move files. Yay. *lol*

So... I finally got the game working, downloaded some of my favorite songs to try out (and some intriguing new ones, like the 6th Mix version of the first Kenshin OP), and did halfway decently letting my fingers do the dancing on my keyboard. I got to this point shortly after 2 a.m., at which time several of my characters were saying "Elya... go to bed... you need sleep..." But noooooo... I'd picked up this adapter thingy with the express intent of making my dance pad work with my computer so I could play this game, so I could edit my own dance steps, so I could finally play "Colour Me Blood Red". So I connected the adapter to the laptop and the dance pad to the adapter, installed the drivers for the thing, fired up the game, went to configure the game pad... and... it wouldn't recognize the directional arrows as buttons. Or something. It no work. ;_; I tried using a regular playstation controller to get the directions, thinking it was my crappy soft pad. Nope. Still no work. Sometime around 3:30 I was starting to develop the first stages of dancepad-face (as opposed to keyboard-face). Decided it was time to drag myself to bed instead of falling asleep on the dance pad. Mrrf.

I'll get this working tonight. Really I will. I'm determined. I will play Malice Mizer DDR, oh yes...

Right. Have I mentioned that I'm addicted to this game?

Yes, I know Konamix is out. I ordered it yesterday, along with a new dance pad and a pad cover so I can wear my shoes when I dance at home. Did I tell you how I nearly full-comboed Dynamite Rave basic on Tuesday night? Missed it by one step. I played 7 rounds at the arcade Tuesday night, plus another when I got home, before I went looking on DDRFreak for a step chart for "Butterfly" and discovered that Konamix was out, at which point I made a mad dash to hastings and walmart to see if they had it yet (neither did).

Put it this way, though: I spend at the arcade what I would spend on gym dues, get just as good an aerobic workout, and have a hell of a lot more fun doing it. I'm in better shape than I have been since high school, when I was walking a mile to and from school each day. Exercize is a good thing to be addicted to. ^_^

*blinks* That was amusing... Ken was trying to call the Santa Fe gallery, but apparently Todd wasn't there yet... and since they forward the phone down here when they leave, it rang down here and I picked it up.

Well, okay, I thought it was amusing. But then again, I only got 4 hours of sleep and I'm running solely on the endorphins from the green chile in the burrito I just ate. Eh-heh. ^^;;

I ordered Wasurenaikara and Vanilla from YesAsia on... Monday? Mmm, I hope they get here soon. ^_^ Shiroi Heya has "Dooms Day" up for download - that song r0xx0rz my s0xx0rz. XD~~~~ Trying to figure out what it reminds me of... I did figure out what "Wasurenaikara" sounds like to me: a cross between Queensr�che and Janne Da Arc. On the verse, Gackt's low voice sounds very much like Geoff's, and the chorus sounds like a Janne Da Arc song, specifically "Feel the Wind". *lol*

Test randomness:



which "monty python and the holy grail" character are you?
this quiz was made by colleen



which 80s hair band are you?
this quiz was made by colleen

Nyx and Chenoa, I want to know what you get on that one. *grin* Unfortunately, Queensr�che isn't one of the possible results. *lol*

Waitaminit... *rereads that description of Warrant* Thinly veiled sexual innuendos... so darn pretty... you know who else that describes? *points to a certain distracted-by-bubbles j-rocker who graces her diary layout* *falls over laughing*

Mrrf. Must get real work done. More silliness later. Heehee...

prev // next

recent alterations //
21 November 2002 // I'm not dead yet!
03 October 2002 // Snarling bitch to genki fangirl in 0.8 seconds flat! [i]
27 September 2002 // He's got butterfly wings, not feathery angel wings. Geez, people!
25 September 2002 // The Great Oekaki Contest Begins! [ai]
14 September 2002 // The obsessiveness continues...

elya-chan's current mood

fate alteration 5.0
ILLUMI-naughty

latest // older // guestbook // cast // design // links // rings // profile // email
oekaki // elfwood gallery // plushiedoken // random surrealism // diaryland

Want to be notified when I update?
Enter your email:

fate alteration original design and content �2000-2002 elya-chan.
Layout optimized for Internet Explorer 5.5 or higher, resolution 800x600 or greater.
All characters mentioned are � their respective creators.

The Kami/Gackt picture above was lovingly scanned by me and carefully edited for this layout. Please don't swipe it. Take the unadulterated version here, and if you use it somewhere else (like a wp or a skin), please link me and let me know - I'd love to see the results!

Serena Karaoke Dilandau-sama! Dragonslayer Viole

I support J-rock! mizer-licious! Dir-esque
gackt and kami make me think yaoi thoughts
FucKeD uP fAngIrL
put on your makeup, boy
Sockful of Quarters kanji