15 April 2002 // Elya-chan no baka. -_-;;;;

music //
wp //
link //

It's April 15, and I'm a notorious procrastinator. Guess what I was doing tonight? ^^;;;;;;

(Besides listening to my new Duel Jewel CD... which came in today. ^_^ Now I can say Yay for quick shipping... and for quick customer service!)

I was going to do my taxes earlier last week... I did my parents' last weekend... I was going to do mine this weekend... was going to do them last night... started getting everything together last night, knowing that once I had everything, it would only take about a half hour with the spiffy turbotax software. Located the 1099 from my bank. Located the statement from TV-I telling me how much I spent on my education last year.

My W-2, however, was nowhere to be found.

I searched every single drawer, shelf, and pile where it could possibly be... at least five times. No luck. I finally gave up and went to sleep at 2 a.m. (again) figuring on resuming the search in the morning. Searched all the piles, etc. again in the morning. Still no W-2. panikku....

I think I accidentally threw it away quite some time ago - it was on a plain-looking sheet of paper in one of the same gallery envelopes I get my paychecks in. I probably tossed it thinking it was empty. ;_;

So I went to work and told Ken my predicament as I came in the door. Gods bless him... as much as I bitch about Ken, he does come through when it really counts. Immediately he called the accountant and asked them to fax over a new copy of the form. Within 15 minutes I had my W-2 in hand. ^_^;;

Fast-forward through the workday, through getting the cd and the autographed poster, through the last chorus rehearsal before our first concert in Santa Fe next Saturday.

I get home from chorus about 9 p.m., throw the Duel Jewel cd in the player, put up an appropriate AIM away message, and fire up TurboTax. Sure enough, I'm finished and ready to file well before the 46-minute cd is over. I'm given the option of printing my forms to mail or filing electronically... Hey, I think, I can do this from the comfort of my own home, without having to find a post office that's still open this time of night! And yeah, it would have worked quite nicely on any other night but this. However, it being April 15, their electronic submission servers are flooded with a tidal wave of hits that makes the Slashdot effect look like a gentle ripple in a puddle. I can't get through, of course. I give it a fighting chance for about 20 minutes before saying "Bah, hell with this..." and printing the forms to file the old-fashioned way.

It's 10 p.m. Now to find a post office...

I'm pretty sure the main one down on Broadway will be open, but it's also a ways across town. I decide to try a nearer one on Candelaria first. Nope. Not open, as I discover along with at least six other people who apparently have the same plan. I'm gratified to know I'm not the only lazy schmuck who put this off till the last minute. *snicker*

So... Broadway it is. Since the Big-I is closed at this time of night, I take Lomas downtown. When I get there, the line on Broadway is backed up from the post office at Mountain all the way to Lomas. By this point, I'm not surprised by this... just amused. Almost slaphappy, in fact. Not only am I not the only lazy schmuck who put this off till the last minute, there are hundreds of other schmucks just as lazy as me. One of the local radio stations even has a remote set up and is having a grand old time (unfortunately, it's not The Peak, it's some country station). It takes me at least ten minutes to get through the line of traffic - they do have someone directing traffic, but there are just so many people. I don't mind. I listen to Duel Jewel and chill (mmm, Hayato's voice is niiiiice). Finally I get to the mailboxes and hand my two envelopes over to the smiling postal worker... and I'm on my way. It's done. Yaaaay.

Now I'm thinking I want to go somewhere and dance to celebrate. I have the incredible urge to go shake my bootay. *lol* Unfortunately, none of the cool places are open because it's Monday night. Boo. -_- And it's after 11, so Hinkle isn't open... because it's Monday night. Boo. Oh, well. I come home and start this entry... finishing two hours later because of amusing, distracting IMs. Yay. *lol*

It's now nearly 2 a.m... less than 24 hours till my birthday. I'm loopy. It's time to get some sleep. Other niftiness happened today, but I'll post it tomorrow. This tax thing needed an entry all its own, to remind me not to be this stupid next year. Hehheh. Riiiiight... #^^#

prev // next

recent alterations //
21 November 2002 // I'm not dead yet!
03 October 2002 // Snarling bitch to genki fangirl in 0.8 seconds flat! [i]
27 September 2002 // He's got butterfly wings, not feathery angel wings. Geez, people!
25 September 2002 // The Great Oekaki Contest Begins! [ai]
14 September 2002 // The obsessiveness continues...

elya-chan's current mood

fate alteration 5.0
ILLUMI-naughty

latest // older // guestbook // cast // design // links // rings // profile // email
oekaki // elfwood gallery // plushiedoken // random surrealism // diaryland

Want to be notified when I update?
Enter your email:

fate alteration original design and content �2000-2002 elya-chan.
Layout optimized for Internet Explorer 5.5 or higher, resolution 800x600 or greater.
All characters mentioned are � their respective creators.

The Kami/Gackt picture above was lovingly scanned by me and carefully edited for this layout. Please don't swipe it. Take the unadulterated version here, and if you use it somewhere else (like a wp or a skin), please link me and let me know - I'd love to see the results!

Serena Karaoke Dilandau-sama! Dragonslayer Viole

I support J-rock! mizer-licious! Dir-esque
gackt and kami make me think yaoi thoughts
FucKeD uP fAngIrL
put on your makeup, boy
Sockful of Quarters kanji