12 December 2001 // I call it "Operation: Let's Get Gackt Played on Albuquerque Radio"!

music //
wp //
link //

I knew there was a reason I listened to The Peak in the morning.

In case you haven't noticed yet, elya-chan officially has a new obsession: J-rock, specifically Gackt. ^_^ Over the past month and a half, I've picked up both his full-length cds and a highly nifty live concert DVD. Real-life bishounen, beautiful voice, puts on an amazing live show... *swoon*

Ah, but here's what happened:

My alarm went off at 7, and I heard Kit and Mike talking about how this morning they would be doing "pay-for-play" - for a $25 donation to the Salvation Army's Giving Tree, they would play any song you wanted. *big genki mischevious fangirl grin* So I called them up.

"What do you want to hear - any song in the world!"
"Any song in the world?"
"Well, if we have it."
"It's by a Japanese artist named Gackt... you probably don't have it."
"Ah, no..."
"What if I bring the CD over?"
"That would be great - just come in with your checkbook and your CD, and let them know we're expecting you. Can you get here by 9?"
"Sure! I'll be there!"

Quickly I shower, get dressed, grab my CDs and go, trying to decide which song to have them play. It snowed again last night, about an inch, and I had to dust off my truck before driving carefully over to the radio studio. I get there and get let in the side door, am directed to the Peak's studio, where another person has also brought in CDs to be played (including the acoustic version of "Sleeping Satellite" by Tasmin Archer, which I adore). Kit is so happy, she's bouncing off the walls because they have visitors! ^_^

"This isn't like, really freaky music, is it?"
"No, actually, it's about the same tone as what you guys usually play."
"Ah, cool. So which song do you want to hear?"
"I'm trying to decide between these two... one's called 'Vanilla' and the other one is 'Kimi no tame ni dekiru koto'."
"Wow, do you speak Japanese?"
"Ah, only a little bit. Mostly what I've picked up from watching anime."
"Well, we'll have you come on the air and say a little bit about the song, and say something in Japanese."
"Okay!" ^_^

I finally decided on Vanilla, since it's so freakin' fun. I handed Mike the CD and told Kit about the awesome website where the lyrics and translations can be found. The other guy's song finished, and they introduced me and let me introduce the song, (Mike: "Gackt, isn't that what a cat hacks up, like a hairball?" Me: *giggling* "No, no...") asking me to say a little about why I like the band and the song ("He's so beautiful, and he's got a great voice, and this song is just so much fun, you'll see..."), did I know Japanese, could I say something? "Ohayo gozaimasu, minna-san! Good morning, everyone!"

And then... Mike: "I never thought I'd be saying this, but here's Gackt on The Peak..." *the song starts*

At this point, I'm the happiest camper on the planet. ^_^ I'm standing in the studio, bopping to the music and mouthing the words, both DJs marveling at how damn genki I am. And they like the song! I tell them a little about how amusing the live performance is... not going into too much detail, of course. ^_^;;;; Kit thinks parts of it would make neat background music for their morning show, and gets the correct spelling of the name and the information about his albums. I tell her about how it's much less expensive to order the imports from CD Japan. Mike laughs about what someone must think if they've just turned on their radio during this song... "what the...?" ^_^ And of course, I write my check for the donation. *grin*

The song ends, and we're back live on the air. Mike: "That was Gackt on the Peak, as requested and brought in by Elya, who's writing her check right now." Kit comments on how I'm even more hyper than she is, "Look how geeked she is! I've never seen anyone more geeked in my life!" *giggle* They tell again about the pay-for-play deal, that they have only a few minutes left, and then they go into the next song.

Oh, I also got a free lunch at Tingley's Grill. Kit led me out to the lobby (as she was on her way to the restroom) so I could get my coupon for that, and I showed her some of the pictures from the CD booklet. "Wow, he is pretty..." I reiterated my point about CD Japan, and gave her the web address.

So... there may soon be random Gackt songs playing in the background on the Peak's morning show! Heehee... I can just imagine, my alarm goes off and Vanilla is playing... what a great way to start the day!

Cadence: I'll say... *ecchi grin*
Elya: *thwaps Cadence* baka-hentai! *giggle*

*big silly fangirl grin* Mmm... It's snowing again, there's a fire in the fireplace at the gallery, I got to hear Gackt on the radio this morning, and I'm even having a good hair day. Life is good. Now I need to go get lunch... ^_^

prev // next

recent alterations //
21 November 2002 // I'm not dead yet!
03 October 2002 // Snarling bitch to genki fangirl in 0.8 seconds flat! [i]
27 September 2002 // He's got butterfly wings, not feathery angel wings. Geez, people!
25 September 2002 // The Great Oekaki Contest Begins! [ai]
14 September 2002 // The obsessiveness continues...

elya-chan's current mood

fate alteration 5.0
ILLUMI-naughty

latest // older // guestbook // cast // design // links // rings // profile // email
oekaki // elfwood gallery // plushiedoken // random surrealism // diaryland

Want to be notified when I update?
Enter your email:

fate alteration original design and content �2000-2002 elya-chan.
Layout optimized for Internet Explorer 5.5 or higher, resolution 800x600 or greater.
All characters mentioned are � their respective creators.

The Kami/Gackt picture above was lovingly scanned by me and carefully edited for this layout. Please don't swipe it. Take the unadulterated version here, and if you use it somewhere else (like a wp or a skin), please link me and let me know - I'd love to see the results!

Serena Karaoke Dilandau-sama! Dragonslayer Viole

I support J-rock! mizer-licious! Dir-esque
gackt and kami make me think yaoi thoughts
FucKeD uP fAngIrL
put on your makeup, boy
Sockful of Quarters kanji