5 September 2001 // More about Ghost Ranch...

music //
wp //
link //

Please see also previous entry... ^_^

On the walk I took on Saturday, my goal was to be back around the main area around noonish - during the lunch hour, there would be a small craft show set up in front of the Dining Hall, with artists who led some of the workshops there. The sale, which happens every Saturday, was called the "Magic Place". I decided I didn't want to miss that. There were only three artists there: a photographer with beautiful black-and-white prints, a jeweler with some nice (but expensive) beaded necklaces and earrings, and a painter with prints and cool note cards. I bought a print of "Nuestra Se�ora de los Chiles," a delightful image of the Lady of Guadalupe (I think) in a dress adorned with red and green chiles, surrounded by chiles, corn, and roses. She's going up in my kitchen. ^_^

On Saturday afternoon, as we were driving to the lake (and past it, to the general store, and back), Trudy discovered that she could actually get better reception of the local classical station up there than she could here in abq. Just as we were getting to the lake (the first time), they began playing Beethoven's 7th symphony... and Claire and Marie insisted that they needed to go to the store to get... um... film! The real motive, of course, was to listen to the symphony - both are very good musicians, Claire is a violist, and is going to Northwestern to major in music, I believe. :) I discovered that the second movement has the same melody as one of my favorite songs on Sarah Brightman's La Luna CD, "Figlio Perduto". I pondered singing that for the New Life Talent Show this year, but...

In explaining who Sarah Brightman is, I mentioned that she was Christine in the original cast of "Phantom of the Opera". At dinner that night, Trudy complained because she'd had random songs from Phantom stuck in her head all day 'cause of that. That mention promptly got the main theme stuck in my head, and I started singing what I could remember of it... surprising myself by hitting the high notes as well as I did, as warmed up as I wasn't. ^_^ The next morning, Trudy asked me to sing "Music of the Night" ... and I could not for the life of me remember more than two words of the lyrics... so I just hummed the melody as well as I could. -_-;; The consensus seemed to be that I should sing that (with lyrics, of course) for the talent show. I need to go find sheet music for it now... I probably have it around here somewhere. If not, it won't be difficult to obtain. However, my FFIX cds came with sheet music for "Melodies of Life", and I want to sing that one, too! A verse in English, a verse in Japanese... **^_^**

Ehhh... my sunburn is finally setting in, and healing, and itching... *goes to apply goopy aloe vera stuff*

Actually, most of the weekend I had random songs from Duncan Sheik's Phantom Moon CD stuck in my head... one, because of Shoiryu's mention of "Mirror in the Heart" in one of her entries; two, because the tone of the whole album really fit the weekend - very laid back and mellow and soothing. I particularly had "Lo and Behold" in my mind while I was reading Daughter of the Shining Isles (I was able to borrow a copy - thank you, Isaura!). It fit incredibly well with certain scenes.

Because we didn't get our reservations in in time, we weren't able to do our usual dinner at Rancho de Chimayo on the way up - we had dinner at the Abiquiu Inn instead, which really made more sense, since it's right on the way and only about 15 or 20 miles from Ghost Ranch itself (and was a most excellent meal). So, since Claire wanted to have one more really good New Mexican meal before she left for college, several of us decided to do Rancho de Chimayo on the way back. Coming from the opposite direction from the one we're used to, I don't think any of us made it there without getting mildly lost on the way. I was following Trudy (since I hadn't seen the map or heard the instructions), and she got stopped for running a red light (and losing me, but I caught up with her), then missed the final turn to Chimayo by a mile or two... Next time we do something like that, I'm navigating. I read signs, and the turn to Chimayo was well marked - I continued following Trudy so I could get her to turn around so she wouldn't end up in Taos. ^_^;;

Rancho de Chimayo has excellent food, and they also have really cool margaritas, including my favorite, the Midori Margarita. Last year I had one of these dayglo-green marvels, nursed it all through dinner, and still didn't finish it. This year, I just wanted a taste, not the whole thing (since I still had to drive home), so four of us split one. Definitely the way to do that. *grin* (Quick google search - cool! One of my friends from Tech has a review! Check it out...)

So now I'm slowly but surely unpacking from the trip. My kitchen is a mess. Last night Mom and Dad came over, bringing dinner, because Dad needed me to put together an ad for him... I need to print them some business cards, too. At work, I need to finish the instructions for updating the website - Ken tried to force poor Josh into doing new acqs on Monday when I wasn't there, and he got so lost. Gomen! We have a staff meeting tomorrow morning at 9 a.m. ... ehhh... I should probably go to sleep now, so I'll be awake enough to leave in time to get to that. *sigh*

Due to another new favorite diary that I found through Shoiryu, I've been downloading random J-rock songs from Audiogalaxy all evening... I'm not really in the mood to listen to them right now, oddly enough. I've been listening to Duncan Sheik while I type. I'll give them a listen tomorrow morning to wake up while I get ready for work. ^_^ I can just see it... by this time tomorrow, I will have a new obsession. *sweatdrop*

The word is told, now.
The word is said...

prev // next

recent alterations //
21 November 2002 // I'm not dead yet!
03 October 2002 // Snarling bitch to genki fangirl in 0.8 seconds flat! [i]
27 September 2002 // He's got butterfly wings, not feathery angel wings. Geez, people!
25 September 2002 // The Great Oekaki Contest Begins! [ai]
14 September 2002 // The obsessiveness continues...

elya-chan's current mood

fate alteration 5.0
ILLUMI-naughty

latest // older // guestbook // cast // design // links // rings // profile // email
oekaki // elfwood gallery // plushiedoken // random surrealism // diaryland

Want to be notified when I update?
Enter your email:

fate alteration original design and content �2000-2002 elya-chan.
Layout optimized for Internet Explorer 5.5 or higher, resolution 800x600 or greater.
All characters mentioned are � their respective creators.

The Kami/Gackt picture above was lovingly scanned by me and carefully edited for this layout. Please don't swipe it. Take the unadulterated version here, and if you use it somewhere else (like a wp or a skin), please link me and let me know - I'd love to see the results!

Serena Karaoke Dilandau-sama! Dragonslayer Viole

I support J-rock! mizer-licious! Dir-esque
gackt and kami make me think yaoi thoughts
FucKeD uP fAngIrL
put on your makeup, boy
Sockful of Quarters kanji