15 September 2001 // Picture in the paper... [p]

music //
wp //
link //

photo in ABQ Journal
photo in Albuquerque Journal, Sept. 12, p. A11. The caption read:
HITTING HOME: Elya Arrasmith of Albuquerque responds to lyrics in a religious song, "Lord, give us power to withstand hatred," on Tuesday in Civic Plaza Downtown following terrorist attacks in New York City and Washington, D.C. (Kitty Clark Fritz / Journal)

So. That's the picture of me that was in the paper on Wednesday morning. Dad called it "pretty unflattering". The guy at the video store (no, I won't say which one *sweatdrop*, but I was returning anime) even recognized me and told me he'd seen it. On Wed. night, many people at New Life told me they'd seen it, and thought it was a very good picture. One person told me that they burst into tears when they saw it.

It's an interesting experience, having your picture printed in the major local paper... especially one where you don't look so good, one where such raw emotion is painted on your face you can't bear to look. Having your friends and people you don't really know say "hey, I saw your picture in the paper" and knowing that that's what they saw. Clipping the picture and the article and wondering what you'll think, what your children will think when you show it to them years from now. Scanning the picture and putting it on your website...

The gal quoted the lyrics of the song incorrectly, though. It's supposed to be "O God give us courage / to withstand hatred," which has a slightly different feel to it, less the patriarchial connotations of the word "Lord". (The song's full lyrics are in my previous entry...) Yes, I'm nitpicking. Language in worship is important to me, particularly inclusive, non-limiting language.

Last night I joined Ken and Doug and their friends at their weekly drum circle, which was doing something a little different this week - a pipe ceremony as in the Cree and Lakota traditions. We offered our prayers to the seven directions and sent them to the spirits with the smoke. Ceremony does amazing things for the psyche. All this past week I have been tired, numb, drifting, on the verge of deep depression. I recognized this last night as I changed after work to go to the circle. After the ceremony, I felt much better. I feel as though I have been able to let go of some of the sorrow, the shock, and give it up to the Universe, "Let go and let Goddess," as it were. The ceremony was a tangible way of doing this release, and it helped immensely.

This group meets every Friday night. I have to go more often. As Ken said, "This is how we keep sane among the Christians." I'm glad to know I'm not the only one who feels that need. ^_^;; Now, how to tell the gaming group...

Gotta get going now - I promised Linda I would help her move her mother's things this afternoon. I'll write more later.

prev // next

recent alterations //
21 November 2002 // I'm not dead yet!
03 October 2002 // Snarling bitch to genki fangirl in 0.8 seconds flat! [i]
27 September 2002 // He's got butterfly wings, not feathery angel wings. Geez, people!
25 September 2002 // The Great Oekaki Contest Begins! [ai]
14 September 2002 // The obsessiveness continues...

elya-chan's current mood

fate alteration 5.0
ILLUMI-naughty

latest // older // guestbook // cast // design // links // rings // profile // email
oekaki // elfwood gallery // plushiedoken // random surrealism // diaryland

Want to be notified when I update?
Enter your email:

fate alteration original design and content �2000-2002 elya-chan.
Layout optimized for Internet Explorer 5.5 or higher, resolution 800x600 or greater.
All characters mentioned are � their respective creators.

The Kami/Gackt picture above was lovingly scanned by me and carefully edited for this layout. Please don't swipe it. Take the unadulterated version here, and if you use it somewhere else (like a wp or a skin), please link me and let me know - I'd love to see the results!

Serena Karaoke Dilandau-sama! Dragonslayer Viole

I support J-rock! mizer-licious! Dir-esque
gackt and kami make me think yaoi thoughts
FucKeD uP fAngIrL
put on your makeup, boy
Sockful of Quarters kanji